13
Jun
11

Waiting is the Hardest Part

Five days from right now I’ll be running down Lake Superior’s North Shore with thousands of other runners in the 35th running of Grandma’s Marathon. Between now and Saturday morning I’ve got an academic paper to write, a couple of presentations to deliver, two flights to catch, and very few miles on the road. Ah yes, tapering, it’s a little like being injured. You get to sleep in a bit later. You can run a bit slower. You don’t get your usual endorphins.

My runs for the past three days (Saturday, Sunday, Monday) were supposed to be 8 miles, 4 miles, 3 miles. Instead I did 10 miles, 5.5 miles, 5 miles. It may not seem like much to add in another 5.5 miles, but that’s another 33% over what I’m supposed to be running these days. The reality is that tapering sucks. It hardly seems worth it to get up at 6:00am to go for a run that’s only going to take me 20 minutes. I’ve got six miles to run over the next 4 four days. I think I’m going to go insane waiting. I just hope that all this pays off in the marathon.

I can’t wait for Saturday morning.

Keep Running.

2 Responses to “Waiting is the Hardest Part”


  1. June 14, 2011 at 9:44 am

    Very cool, and good luck getting it all together! I’m running Chicago this October, and I can’t wait – it’s my first marathon.

    • 2 pridkett
      June 14, 2011 at 9:50 am

      Good luck with your training. I’m running Chicago this fall too. I was supposed to run it last year but was injured and needed to pull out. If you’re like a lot of people right now and looking at a Chicago training plan and wondering “How am I going to do this?” By the time you reach tapering you’ll wonder “How can I stop?!”


Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

  • @ThisRunningLife We do a lot more than that. You've probably interacted with Watson before and never known it. But yeah, the celebs are fun. 11 months ago
  • I'm seriously tempted to sign up for a North Face Endurance 50 Miler. I've never done more than a marathon. I might be crazy. 2 years ago
  • @ChiMarathon Pilsen. Great music. Free beer and churros for the runners. A huge crowd. Hugs all around. What's not to love?! 2 years ago

Marathon Times

2011 NYC Marathon3:57:45
2011 Hartford Marathon3:58:17
2011 Chicago Marathon4:20:16
2011 Grandma's Marathon4:07:43
2010 Big Sur International Marathon4:22:49
2009 NYC Marathon4:37:05
2009 Twin Cities Marathon4:43:28
2009 Pittsburgh Marathon4:14:38
2008 Erie Marathon5:11:40

Upcoming Races

  • Nov 6 - New York City Marathon, New York, NY
For previous races, check out my Race Log

