06
Jun
11

It’s all about the rhythm

No blog post for the last couple of weekends because I didn’t have a race to write about. Memorial day weekend was the peak of my training for Grandma’s Marathon where I did 24, 11, and 9 miles over the three day weekend. Sadly, I had to get up incredibly early on Tuesday morning to catch a flight back to rather warm and humid New York, and that’s where stuff started to go downhill.

I fly often enough that I have no problem sleeping on planes. Put me on a plane at any time of day and I can nearly guarantee that I can fall asleep. Often times it’s a little like magic, I board the plane early, side down by the window, and just fall asleep — completely missing the announcements, takeoff, and landing. Air travel truly is some sort of magic teleportation device for me. Unfortunately, this is never “quality” sleep. No matter how much I sleep on a plane I’m still tired. Such was the case on Tuesday. Get into New York around 11am and drive to work and stick around there until 7pm. Drive home and go out for a planned eight mile run up to Valhalla and back. No problem. Ughh. About two miles in I was sore and felt like I was dying. Time to turn around and walk the two miles home. No reason to be stupid and hurt myself during my taper.

Wednesday and Thursday are usually running days too. Not last week. Work calls, and this week it meant busting my ass (and that of my co-author) to get a CSCW 2012 paper out the door. Sadly, this meant 18 hour work days on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday. I felt enough like I was going to puke without the bonus of going for a run.

Which brought me to Saturday. A medium distance run of about 12 miles was the plan. No problem, right? It was good weather, I was reasonably hydrated. I felt good. Unfortunately, my old bones hurt like hell doing it. I tried to tell my body that it had only been out of commission for three days, but it wasn’t going to listen. I finished the run at about my marathon pace, but I worked my ass off to do it. Sunday wasn’t much better.

Tomorrow is supposed to be rest. It’s under two weeks to Grandma’s Marathon. Right now I feel like I just need to get a decent run under my belt. Loosing your rhythm two weeks before the Marathon is not such a wonderful thing.

Until next time, keep running.

0 Responses to “It’s all about the rhythm”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

  • @ThisRunningLife We do a lot more than that. You've probably interacted with Watson before and never known it. But yeah, the celebs are fun. 1 year ago
  • I'm seriously tempted to sign up for a North Face Endurance 50 Miler. I've never done more than a marathon. I might be crazy. 2 years ago
  • @ChiMarathon Pilsen. Great music. Free beer and churros for the runners. A huge crowd. Hugs all around. What's not to love?! 2 years ago

Marathon Times

2011 NYC Marathon3:57:45
2011 Hartford Marathon3:58:17
2011 Chicago Marathon4:20:16
2011 Grandma's Marathon4:07:43
2010 Big Sur International Marathon4:22:49
2009 NYC Marathon4:37:05
2009 Twin Cities Marathon4:43:28
2009 Pittsburgh Marathon4:14:38
2008 Erie Marathon5:11:40

Upcoming Races

  • Nov 6 - New York City Marathon, New York, NY
For previous races, check out my Race Log

